Skip to Main Content

Library Homepage: Distance Learner Services

Goddard Library & Technology Center - Rochester Community & Technical College. Rochester, MN

Online Learner Services

  • Accessing Your Library Account Online
    •  Your online library account offers access to brief summaries of your current loans and material renewals. Your current library account details can be found by clicking on "Access Your Account " link on the library homepage.
  • Books and Ebooks
    • The library contains over 84,000 print volumes that are searchable in our electronic library catalog, Primo. The library catalog also contains eBooks (electronic books) that are available through netLibrary and Minnesota's Minitex library partnership.
  • RCTC Online Education ID Card

    • Students whose classes are entirely online do not need an ID card.  RCTC students registered for online courses are welcome to come to campus to obtain an RCTC Photo ID card at the Campus Safety and Security office located in Coffman Center (CF) 102.  This is used to check out books, to buy books at the Bookstore, to access the Fitness Center, for admittance to sporting and theater events, and for free bus rides.  If you never come to Rochester, there is no need to obtain a card.  Access to our online resources including article databases, eBooks, and interlibrary loan is available using your STAR ID/Password.

  • Overdue Materials
    • Any overdue item reaching billable status will accrue a minimum cost of $50 plus a $10 nonrefundable handling fee. At the time of billing, a hold will be placed on registration and transcripts until all material is returned and fines cleared. Names with unpaid fines will be forwarded to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise.
  • Periodicals and Journals
    • The Library subscribes to more than 45,854 periodicals, 251 print titles, and 45,603 online titles. Some of our current print periodical issues are displayed in the Quiet Reading Lounge and older issues are shelved in the Periodicals Room. The electronic journal titles are available in the article databases on the library website. These databases contain citations, abstracts, and full-text articles that are accessible on and off-campus. Researching within specific journal titles can also be accomplished by using the Journal Finder link on the webpage.
  • Remote Access
    •  All current online education students may access electronic library resources remotely (off-campus) using their StarID and password.
  • Research Assistance
    • Librarians may be reached in person at the library Reference Desk, by telephone at 507 536.5387, or via e-mail.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    •  Online education students have access to books and periodicals from other libraries via interlibrary loan (ILL). Books and journal articles not found in Goddard Library may be requested electronically from the library homepage by clicking on the Interlibrary Loan link. ILL requests can be mailed upon request to your residence by contacting the library.