What is a library database?
Library databases contain information from published works.
Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles, journal articles, encyclopedia resource references, and other reference materials.
Library databases provide citation information.
Date of Publication
Publisher
Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book)
Title of Article
Author, if available
Library databases contain citations, abstracts, and full-text articles.
You can print or email resources, get citation information, and reference additional relevant resources.
Library databases are included in your tuition. You cannot Google these articles and access them for free. They are free for YOU when you use the Goddard Library website.
If you already know the name of the database or journal you're looking for (not common):
If you don't know the name of the database :
Library databases provide access to information from professionals or experts in the field.
Web sites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
Library databases contain published works from peer reviewed information sources.
Web site content is not necessarily checked by an expert, or may not provide supporting arguments of academic context.
Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and often offer a citation for you.
Web sites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
Library databases can help you narrow a research topic or suggest related subjects.
Web sites often aren’t organized to support student research needs.
Library databases are updated frequently and include publication dates.
Web sites may not always indicate updated pages.
